Holy Family Novena – Day 7

Jesus, Mary and Joseph, pray for us!
Jesus, Mary and Joseph, pray for us!

 

We originally posted this on Australian Catholic Families blog.

We will be posting each day for the next nine days.

For full transcript go here:Novena to the Holy Family

DAY 7

Family Love

Sign of the Cross…

Father, help us to live as the holy family of Jesus, Mary and Joseph. Heavenly Father, from whom all parenthood comes, help us to grow in gratitude, love and respect towards our parents, whom by the gift of life, have brought us into the world and enabled us to grow. Teach us to understand our children so that they may grow in your wisdom and love according to your holy will: to be the best parents that we can, to model our parenthood on the parenthood of God, and to follow the example of Mary and Joseph. Amen.

READING

Jeremiah 1: 4-8
The word of the LORD came to me, saying, “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.” “Alas, Sovereign LORD,” I said, “I do not know how to speak; I am too young.” But the LORD said to me, “Do not say, ‘I am too young.’ You must go to everyone I send you to and say whatever I command you. Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you and will rescue you,” declares the LORD.

PSALM

Psalm 139: 13-16
For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.
My frame was not hidden from you
when I was made in the secret place,
when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
Your eyes saw my unformed body;
all the days ordained for me were written in your book
before one of them came to be.

GOSPEL

Matthew 18:5-6,10
At this time the disciples came to Jesus and said “ Who is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven?” So he called a little child to him whom he set among them. Then he said, “In truth I tell you, unless you change and become like little children you will never enter the kingdom of Heaven. And so, the one who makes himself as little as this little child is the greatest in the kingdom of Heaven. ‘Anyone who welcomes one little child like this in my name welcomes me. But anyone who is the downfall of one of these little ones who have faith in me would be better drowned in the depths of the sea with a great millstone round his neck. …See that you never despise any of these little ones, for I tell you that their angels in heaven are continually in the presence of my Father in heaven.’

REFLECTION

John Paul II: Evangelium Vitae 92
As the domestic church, the family is summoned to proclaim, celebrate and serve the Gospel of life. This is a responsibility which first concerns married couples, called to be givers of life, on the basis of an ever greater awareness of the meaning of procreation as a unique event which clearly reveals that human life is a gift received in order then to be given as a gift. In giving origin to a new life, parents recognize that the child, “as the fruit of their mutual gift of love, is, in turn, a gift for both of them, a gift which flows from them”. It is above all in raising children that the family fulfils its mission to proclaim the Gospel of life.

CONCLUDING PRAYER

Consecration of the family to the Sacred Heart of Jesus and the Immaculate Heart of Mary
Most Holy Hearts of Jesus and Mary, united in perfect love, as you look upon us with mercy and caring, we consecrate our hearts, our lives, our family to you. We know the beautiful example of your home in Nazareth was meant to be a model for each of our families. We hope to have, with your help, the unity and strong, enduring love you gave to one another.  May our home be filled with joy. May sincere affection, patience, tolerance and mutual respect be freely given to all. May our prayers be filled with the needs of others, not just ourselves and may we always be close to your sacraments. Bless those who are present, as well as those who are absent, both the living and the dead; may peace be among us and when we are tested, grant us the Christian acceptance of God’s will.  Keep our family close to your Hearts, may your special protection be with us always.
Most Sacred Hearts of Jesus and Mary, hear our prayers. Amen +.

Jesus, Mary and Joseph, Pray for us

 

Leave a Reply

