From the Coalface {SQT} The Un-Bucket List

seven-quick-takes-friday-2-300x213Linking up with Kelly at This Ain’t the Lyceum

 

So the New Calendar year is supposed to prompt people to make resolutions that things will be different in the year to come.  Things that they want to change about themselves. As the New Religion is all about self-improvement, it usually seems to revolve around losing weight, getting fit, or making more money.

As an adjunct to New Years Resolutions is the Bucket List.  You know, all the things people want to do before they die and decay in the ground with no hope of Heaven and anything better to do after they are dead.  It seems to generally revolve around travel, spending lots of money and self-pleasure.

So, instead of New Year’s Resolutions & Bucket Lists, we were chatting about things we definitely don’t want to ever do ever in a million years and would happily go to our grave having never done.

We’re calling it the “Un-Bucket List”.

So begins a journey into our deepest, darkest fears….

-1-

Firstly, anything involving heights of any kind.

glider

Our conversation about this list originally began because my husband was talking about his Great-Aunt, who at the ripe old age of 80 requested a glider flight for her birthday present.  Maybe she figured it would be ok to plunge to her death as she had done everything else by this stage.  Maybe she genuinely wanted to know what it feels like to have your stomach left 1,000 feet above where your body is actually being suspended.  Who knows?

But, I would definitely put a voluntary glider flight at the top of MY list of what-not-to-get-me for my birthday (just in case you’re wondering, kids).

-2-

Scared-Skydiver-1024x702

Another height-related one would be skydiving for pretty well the same reasons, except there is NOTHING around you to make you feel even vaguely secure while suspended at crazy death inducing heights above the earth.  I would be the one whose chute does that rare thing of not opening.

How do I know?  I JUST KNOW.

And, thanks to YouTube, I can now vicariously live out my absolute worst nightmares to reinforce my dread of this.. just do a search for “sky diving accidents” and you’ll know what I mean.

Hence its inclusion in the un-bucket list category.

 

-3-

I guess being the over-thinker I am, I should qualify my fear of heights into a sub-category related to fear of falling from a height, ending in very messy death..

So, in keeping with this theme I am adding bungee jumping to my list.

-4-

Coming in closely after heights would be my abhorrence for being cold.  So, joining the Brighton Icebergers Club is definitely up there for me.  These people actually want to jump into freezing cold water in winter…  I think I still have post-traumatic stress from my years with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome when one of the anecdotal treatments at the time was to lie in cold water for at least 20 minutes a day.  I did it because I was so desperate, but am now inclined to agree that there is not much point.  I will happily go to my grave without ever doing this again ever for the rest of my life.

-5-

And along the water lines, SCUBA DIVING is definitely making the un-bucket list.  The one and only time in my life I went scuba diving was in the pool at our resort on our honeymoon.  I had to go under water, swim 2 metres, make the “ok” hand signal and then I could be released from purgatory.  I think breathing under water would have to be the most unnatural thing I have ever done in my life.  We are not fish, people.  We do not breathe under water.  It’s weird.  Find something better to do, like… walking around above sea level or drinking cocktails.

This is me on our honeymoon... can you see the utter terror in my eyes??
This is me on our honeymoon… can you see the utter terror in my eyes??

 

-6-

And speaking of cocktails one definite for my list is to never, ever taste Bourbon again for the rest of my life.  After a brief foray into youthful over-imbibing on Bourbon, I never EVER want to taste it again for the rest of my life.  EVER.  Is that pretty clear?  At one stage the Bourbon phobia extended to all dark spirits, and while I still can’t drink them, I actually quite like Rum and Raisin Icecream and Brandy custard with my Christmas pudding, but that’s as close as I can get these days… in fact if you add lots of sugar and fat to just about anything I would eat it, as long as it’s not Bourbon.

-7-

And I had to let Craig have the final say for the Un-Bucket list which is… Swimming with Sharks.

Swimming with Sharks

Having surfed for much of his life, he actually has a real fear of sharks.  I guess it is backed up by the fact that lots of people get eaten in Australia.

We would love to hear what’s on your un-bucket list… please add below!

Have a great week everyone!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

